Birds of a Feather…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Aftermath…Scrapfest ’08 September 15, 2008

Filed under: Day in the life,Scrapbooking tips and tricks — birdsofafeather19 @ 4:21 pm

Whew!  What a weekend.  Who knew working could be so much fun!  I spent both Saturday and Sunday helping out at the Fiskars booth at Scrapfest and I can’t wait for next year when hopefully, I can do it all again.  It was such a busy event that I didn’t get much time to snap photos but here are a few for the “day in the life” file.

Here is Stephenie, Fiskateer Legend, demo-ing products.  I was particullary impressed that she was able to help out a scrapbooker in line that was hearing impaired as she knows sign language.  The crowds also loved Stephenie even more at the end of the show as she gave away almost every product they brought with!!  Fiskars, Stephenie, Suzanne, Cheryl, Angela and Rebecca were very generous throughout the weekend, not only with product, but with teaching and sharing their considerable knowledge.  I’m very proud to feel like I was a part of that even for just a couple of days.

 

Here’s a full shot of the demo table.  This is at the head of the line so the crafters have some tools to play with and learn about while they wait in line.  An average wait was a minimum of 30 minutes so any break from the waiting was welcomed by all.  The best part was seeing someone learn how to use a Fiskars tool and see how easy it is.  I really love teaching; and seeing that “aha” moment is what makes it fun.  By the way, that’s Fiskars TV host, Suzanne, manning the table. (see the man off to the left?  That’s the kind of look we got all weekend from the non-crafters.  It always makes me chuckle when I see it.)

 

Here are Cheryl, Lead Fiskateer, and Jennie, a Fiskateer from MN, teaching the make-n-take.  Fiskars offered a progressive mini-album thorughout the weekend, with two pages each day.  Each page was a different line from Heidi Grace, Lil Davis and Cloud 9.  Cloud 9 creators Amy and Nancy were also there teaching classes and bringing joy with bright pink Scrapanista wrist bands.  The crowds loved seeing these two ladies!! 

I was lucky enough to get to spend a few minutes chatting with Cheryl before we got down to work and I’m so grateful that I did.  She is one special lady and I look forward to more Fiskateer events that may bring us together.  It’s obvious that her heart is in her job and I admire her for that.

And finally, I had to show this one…My son and his friend tagged along to spend the day at the Mall of America on Sunday.  I think it is so ironic that they were standing in front of the Lucky Brand jeans store.  Because I was “lucky” to get even this one photo of them at all!!

 

5 Responses to “The Aftermath…Scrapfest ’08”

  1. Sweepnut #3618 Says:

    It sounds like you had an awesome time…and from the smile on your son’s face, it looks like he had a good time too 🙂

  2. Great re-cap and photos! I wish we had all had more time to hang out- that was a CRAZY weekend!

  3. Fiskateer411 Says:

    Hey Chica!! It was so great working with you! You were awesome!! Thanks so much for all of your hard work! By the way, I think I took less pictures than you, lol!

  4. kara ward Says:

    I found you!!!! Love the blog. I hope you have recovered from Scrapfest. It is always a blast but a lot of work too! Kara

  5. It was such a blessing meeting you. The time was short but precious! Thanks for your sweet words . . . they touched my heart! I’m grateful I had the opportunity to spend a little time together! Blessings!


Leave a comment