Birds of a Feather…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Favorite Quick Project March 6, 2009

Filed under: Family time,Scrapbook Layouts,Scrapbooking tips and tricks — birdsofafeather19 @ 3:03 pm

This fun project is called an exploding box.  If you want a quick and easy craft for a weekend or a crop day try this.  They have been around for quite awhile but seem to pop up from time to time.  They make a great gift.  This one sits on my desk at work and makes me happy with the bright colors and pictures of my family.

 

explodingboxfront

I found that brightly colored birdy paper and had to make something with it.  I’m like a kid in a candy store with paper.  Love it!!

explboxopen

The butterfly was on this bright paper, too.  So I cut it out with my Fiskars micro-tip scissors which are prefect for intricate details like this.  I used a sponge to ink the edges of the butterfly slightly so it would stand out more and bent the wings up just a little.

 

explboxctr

For some dimension and interest I embellished some of the pages without adding a photo.  I also embellished some of the photos with a flower or tag.  Just mixin’ it up.

explboxmid

explboxfamily

This was my first attempt at this project and, as with any new skill, I learned something for the next time.  First, decide which direction you want the pictures to face.  I think I turned them all around at least once and they still don’t face the same direction.  Second, make the top of the box and place it on the box before you decorate the outside.  I made this cute “Family” square and then discovered that the top of the box covered up the F and most of the a and m.  Oh well.  I still love it.

Happy Crafting!

Amy

 

One Response to “My Favorite Quick Project”

  1. leasanders Says:

    Great project! Maybe I’ll make one of these sometime. =)

    Have a great weekend!


Leave a comment